Are you a student looking to sign in? Click here, we can help!

How Can We Help?

Tip: How to Delete a Program or Rank with Students Attached

 

You may find that you have a program or rank within a program that is no longer needed. For example, maybe you no longer offer yoga classes, and you want to delete the Yoga program in Kicksite. But when you try to delete it, you see an error message that says “You are unable to delete this program until all students are unattached.” This error is actually helpful to prevent errors and problems with missing ranks.

Before you can delete the program, you first need to find all the students who have that program and/or rank attached and remove it. This includes active, inactive, and frozen students.

 

To remove the program and/or rank from students (New view):

1. Click Quick Links in the left panel, click Settings, and then click Program Settings.

2. If you need to delete a program, click the number under Student Count to view a filtered Student List that shows only students within that program. If you need to delete a rank within a program, click the program’s name. Find the rank you need to delete, and click the number under Students to view the filtered Student List that shows only students with the desired rank.

3. Ctrl+click (Windows) or Command+click (Mac) the name of each student in the filtered Student List. This will open the student profile in a new browser tab. (It’s helpful to open each student’s profile page in a separate browser tab so that you don’t “lose” the filtered Student List page after you update the student’s program and/or rank.)

4. Click the first new tab and then remove or change the desired program and/or rank. (For example, if you need to consolidate the Kids and Juniors programs, you can remove the Kids program and rank and attach the Juniors program with the equivalent rank.)

a. Click Add & Remove under Programs & Ranks. In the dialog box that pops up, click the X next to the program(s) and ranks(s) you want to delete.

b. If needed, select a different program from the Add Program drop-down list, select the correct rank from the Add Rank drop-down list, and click the + button.

c. Click the Finish button.

5. Close the browser tab for that student. Repeat Step 4 for each student until you have removed the program(s) and rank(s) from all students that had that program and/or rank attached.

 

To remove the program and/or rank from inactive or frozen students (Classic view):

1. Follow Steps 1-3 in the previous section to find the students who need to have their program and/or rank changed. Click the first new tab to go to the student’s profile. (If needed, you can switch to Classic by clicking the Leave the Beta button.)

2. Remove the program and/or rank you want to delete by clicking the Edit Student link. Deselect check box(es) beside the program(s) you want to delete. (If needed, select the check box for a different program and then select the correct rank from the drop-down list.)

3. Click the Update Student button.

4. Close the browser tab for that student. Repeat Steps 2 and 3 until you have removed the program and/or rank from all students.

 

These steps may take some time to complete, depending on how many students you have attached to the program and/or rank you want to delete.

 

To delete a program or rank:

After you have removed the program and/or rank from all students, click Quick Links, click Settings, and then click Programs Settings.

 

To delete a program:

1. Click the three vertical dots on the right side of the program and then click Delete.

2. In the dialog box that appears, click the Delete button.

Tip: If the program has a lot of ranks in it, you may need to delete most of the ranks individually before you can delete the program.

 

To delete a rank:

1. Click the name of the program to view the ranks.

2. Click the three vertical dots on the right side of the rank and then click Delete.

3. In the dialog box that appears, click the Delete button.

 

Previous How to Use Ranks Overview
Next How to Add a Class Schedule with the Scheduler